Muffin Tin Frittatas

In my never ending effort to try to eat healthy and also minimize the amount of time required for me to get out the door in the morning, I’m always looking for things I can cook ahead of time and grab and go in the morning. So far, my favorite homemade breakfast is muffin tin frittatas. These are so ridiculously easy to make that it’s hardly a recipe, and you can make them exactly to your taste and preferences. Also, I get jealous comments from my co-workers when I bring them into the office for my breakfast every time, so that’s probably a good sign, too!

Without further ado…

Recipe for Muffin Tin Frittatas:Frittata Ingredients

Preheat oven to 375
Grease/spray regular-size muffin tin or cupcake liners (this is very important, otherwise they stick a lot!!!)
Fill the cup up to a max of about 3/4 full with any mix-ins you want – meat, veggies (red pepper recommended), cheese (don’t skimp on the cheese :)), etc
Crack eggs (roughly 1 egg per frittata – I find 5 eggs per 6 muffins is just about perfect) into a mixing bowl
Add salt, pepper, garlic powder, whatever other herbs/spices you want to eggs (I tried Adobo Seasoning this week – so good!)
Beat eggs (you can add some milk if you want) and pour them into the cups
Bake for about 20 minutes! They’re done when they puff up somewhat and the tops are slightly browned.
(Original inspiration recipe I found on Pinterest is here: Egg Muffins Revisted)

I usually reheat mine in the microwave for about a minute before eating. They’re good in the fridge for a whole week. Just stick them in the fridge after they cool and you’re ready to grab breakfast on the way out the door in the morning! Pro tip from the original blogger: portion them out into ziploc bags or tupperwares from the start and you’re really ready to fly in the morning.

There you go! Super easy, and you can make your entire week’s breakfast at once with minimal effort. I think I’ll experiment with the add-ins until I find some really great combos. So far sausage and cheese is my favorite. I didn’t like them with bacon, but I had burnt the bacon so it’s hardly fair to judge on that. I think feta and spinach would be really good!

Have any suggestions for potential combos? Let me know, maybe I’ll try some! Or even better, try it out and share your successes in the comments!

Cheers,
Anthea
2 thoughts on “Muffin Tin Frittatas

  1. Hi Anthea! I haven’t tried eggs in a muffin tin before, but I do have eggs for breakfast a couple of times a week. I like sausage and black pepper (and cheese), ham and onion (and cheese), and tomato and basil flakes (and cheese!)

Leave a Reply

