Fitness DVD Review: Jillian Michaels’ Kickbox FastFix

Disclaimer: I purchased a copy of Jillian Michaels’ fitness DVD “Kickbox FastFix” with my personal funds. I did not receive any payment or other compensation for writing this review.

Jillian Michaels Kickbox FastFixDVD Title: Jillian Michaels’ Kickbox FastFix
Date released: March 2012
Duration: Three 20-minute workouts
Number of discs: 1
Cost: $9-$15 (I’ve seen this DVD for sale at Target and on Amazon)
Additional equipment needed: Hand weights and a mat if you are working out on a hard surface

I currently own three Jillian Michaels’ fitness DVDs, and Kickbox FastFix is one of my favorites. The DVD includes three 20-minute workouts that target specific muscle groups: workout one targets the upper body, workout two targets the lower body and workout three targets the core.

What I love about this DVD is that the workouts are short enough to fit into my often hectic schedule but intense enough that I’m always dripping with sweat at the end of those 20 minutes. All three workouts offer a fantastic cardio workout while integrating some strength training. They’re a great option for those days when you don’t have a lot of time but you still really want to get a workout in.

I am also a big fan of Jillian Michaels’ fast-paced style; she doesn’t give me time to get bored or think about how tough the workout is that day. I have actually stopped in the middle of a fitness DVD because the pace was too slow, not because I’m super fit but because a slow pace gives me too much time to think, which then makes me feel tired and bored. I don’t have that problem with Kickbox FastFix.

As the title of the DVD suggests, the workouts are inspired by martial arts, so most of the exercises use body weight for resistance. This means your results will be directly affected by the effort you put in. If you halfheartedly throw kicks and punches, you won’t see any results from this DVD. Be sure to watch and participate in the tutorial included in this DVD so you understand how to properly execute the moves for maximum results. Also, don’t get frustrated by the combination moves when you first do the workouts. It took me several times to get the combinations right because they get more and more complicated as you go (it’s almost like a game of memory), but I started to have a lot of fun once I got the moves down.

Be warned that Jillian throws in some unexpected exercises into this DVD. You’ll see body resistance exercises such as pushups, situps and bicycle crunches; you’ll need weights for strength exercises such as back rows, head bangers/skull crushers and chest flies; and she amps up the cardio with suicides and even some plyometrics. A tip on those suicides: If you don’t have a ton of floor space, which I don’t, pick up your knees as high as you can to intensify the workout.

My overall rating of this DVD is four stars out of five. It’s an intense, fast-paced workout in just 20 minutes, but the complicated combination moves might be a deterrent to some.

Leave a Reply

